Media Advisory

“A Showcase of Indigenous Strength and Solidarity”

Pueblo Governors to Host Non-Partisan Forum with Candidates Vying for Congress and Key State Offices

Albuquerque (NM) –   Since 1598, Pueblo leadership has convened through the All Pueblo Council of Governors to protect their languages, cultures, and traditional ways of life. In a showcase of Indigenous strength and solidarity, the Pueblo Governors will host a Candidates Forum on Friday, October 14, 2022 at the Indian Pueblo Cultural Center.

The Forum invites federal and state executive candidates to share proposals to address policy priorities of New Mexico’s 19 Pueblos. The event builds on APCG’s historic work in the 2021 redistricting process, which will strengthen the voice of all New Mexicans and prevent the dilution of New Mexico’s Native vote.

The Officers of the All Pueblo Council of Governors made the following joint statement:

“We are proud of the work accomplished in the 2021 Redistricting Cycle to ensure that New Mexico’s Native American voices are heard in our political process. We underscore today, that our collective strength cannot be achieved without Pueblo People registering to vote by October 11, 2022, and making plans to participate in the process to elect candidates of their choice on election day Tuesday, November 8.”

Invited candidates are: 

  • Federal Candidates
    • U.S. House of Representatives
      • Congressional District 1
        1. Representative Melanie Stansbury, (Incumbent) Democrat
        1. Michelle Garcia Holmes, Republican
      • Congressional District 2
        1. Representative Yvette Herrell, (Incumbent) Republican
        1. Gabriel Vasquez, Democrat
      • Congressional District 3
        1. Representative Teresa Leger Fernandez, (Incumbent) Democrat
        1. Alexis Martinez Johnson, Republican
  • State Candidates
    • Governor
      • Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham, (Incumbent) Democrat
      • Mark Ronchetti, Republican
    • Attorney General
      • Raul Torrez, Democrat
      • Jeremy Gay, Republican
    • Secretary of State
      • Secretary Maggie Toulouse Oliver, (Incumbent) Democrat
      • Audrey Mendonca-Trujillo, Republican
    • Treasurer
      • Laura Montoya, Democrat
      • Harry Montoya, Republican
    • Public Lands Commissioner
      • Commissioner Stephanie Garcia Richard, (Incumbent) Democrat
      • Jefferson Byrd, Republican

Event Details:

  • Date: Friday, October 14, 2022
  • Place: Indian Pueblo Cultural Center
  • Room(s): Chaco I | Chaco II | Chaco III
  • Time:
    • Forum: 3pm to 6 pm

For further contact:

Tyla Chopito 505.212.7041 – APCG Executive Assistant

For more information on the All Pueblo Council of Governors, please visit us at

©2023 APCG All Pueblo Council of Governors

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?